* Music *

Hailing from the prairies of southern Alberta, Canada, The New Weather Machine is a four-piece indie/alternative rock band led by singer, songwriter, and lead guitar player Jon Martin. The band’s sound combines acoustic textures, huge guitars, concise guitar leads, analogue synthesizers, and big drums to evoke the spirit of mid-70s coastal rock and early 90s alternative. Jon brings a wealth of studio mastery and experience gained from producing rock, country, classical, and indie records for other artists to explore the potential of the modern studio, while maintaining an organic approach to performance and sound creation.

The band was formed as Jon’s studio project in 2008, releasing their eponymous debut album in 2009. Performing extensively across western Canada, they released the November ’09 Basement Demos EP in 2009, and the November Basement Demos 2010 EP in 2010. The band went on hiatus in 2014 while Jon focused on electroacoustic composition and completed his Master of Music degree.

The sophomore album, Seas of Dawn – released September 15th, 2017 – features legendary studio drummer Kenny Aronoff and was produced by Jon Martin. The band is currently working on the follow-up record, Nothing Comes Between Us (to be released early 2018).