From the prairies of southern Alberta, Canada, The New Weather Machine is a four-piece indie/alternative band led by Jon Martin. They combine acoustic textures, electric guitars, analogue synthesizers, and big drums to evoke the spirit of mid-70s coastal rock and early 90s alternative, and mix it with all of the things that are wonderful about modern music.

The New Weather Machine was formed as a studio project in 2008, releasing their eponymous debut album in 2009. Performing extensively across western Canada, they released a handful of EPs between 2010-2013. In 2014, the band went on hiatus while Jon completed his Master of Music degree.

The sophomore album, Seas of Dawn, was released on September 15, 2017 and features legendary studio drummer Kenny Aronoff. The band is currently recording the follow-up record,
Prairie Coastal Wildflower, to be released 2019.